My Fast Idle Ain't Fast!

144-250 cid Inline Six Performance
1964Comet404
Location: upstate, ny - owego (not to be confused with "oswego")

My Fast Idle Ain't Fast!

Post by 1964Comet404 »

Good Day All! I hope you're Enjoying pleasant moments a plenty. I have a 1964 Mercury Comet 404, 4 dr. Sedan, L6/200/3.3L, Auto., Autolite 1100 Single Barrel Carb... I just replaced the Carb with a nice rebuilt one. I have Zero experience with this and have been reading the Shop Manual about the adjustments, but it just doesn't work for me. There are 3 Screws and a little plastic nut-like thing, which seems to limit the travel of the choke plate, and then of course there's the automatic choke which I don't know if it's set properly either. I turn it either way and I'm not sure what I'm doing, but it doesn't seem to make a difference. There are arrows on it and the word Lean going counter clockwise.

The carb came with the fast idle screw, screwed just about all the way in. The Idle Screw was screwed in about 1/2 way. The Mixture screw was at about 1 and 1/2 turns out, as per the book. After many hours of what I would call Learning Time, I got things adjusted so it runs pretty smooth, or as smooth as possible, I also adjusted the timing to spec.

When Warm. The Choke Plate doesn't seem to open all the way, and if I manually open it up all the way, the engine gets rough. If I close the choke plate as far as I can, the engine gets rough, somewhere about the middle of that travel, the engine smooths out nicely. I adjusted that plastic nut-like thing to limit the travel to where the engine runs best. I have the idle set at about 750 RPM. The Idle mixture screw seems to be way out.