Little More Info on Rust Removal

Discussions about general body work and modifications
lavron
Site Admin

Little More Info on Rust Removal

Post by lavron »

I know I have shown a lot in my build thread on removing rust, it is something I seem to do a lot of :roll: if I had a big air compressor I might consider media blasting to remove rust but I don't. However I want to show everyone here (even though I think you know this) there are different ways to do things for us poor folks :P

I do a lot of experimenting with different things, some are cheap some are not, it is all in the name of science :roll: and maybe something I learn will help out someone else. You all know I am no professional and I don't necessarily do things in the "proper" way but I try to do a good job and when I discover something that impresses me I want to share that information, certainly I have nothing to gain from this and I can maybe help the next guy out considering what to do to their old rusty Comet (or any other car) without spending a lot of money.

The rust removal on the roof of my Comet has been an experiment to see what works for me and get it fixed, so this last product that I used and talked about in my build thread impressed me a lot, was cheap and readily available.

Klean Strip Phosphoric Prep & Etch, you can buy it at Home Depot for a little over $15 a gallon. I think it is pretty much the same stuff that POR15 sells called Metal Ready except maybe a bit more concentrated, the POR15 product is, IIRC, $35 a gallon and you have to order it and have it shipped to you. I put some in pump spray bottle full strength but I believe you can dilute it some.