Hello from the Pony Shop

Let everyone know a little about yourself
Ponyshopguy

Hello from the Pony Shop

Post by Ponyshopguy »

Hi everyone, this is my first time on this forum. I joined for a specific reason :) ok to give you a quick background, I've been collecting vintage mustangs for the past 10 years both resto mods and shelbys. Along the way I picked up a 1961 Mercury comet out of a farmers barn and restored it as best as I could. The Signal Red paint is original and restored beautifully. My goal is to give the finished car to my daughter in law who knows cars as well as I do. The 170 inline runs well even though it has the "stumble" with the starved fuel log issue. I'm not happy with my brake job which I completely rebuilt with all new parts, lines , master cylinder and brake cylinders. I stopped at retrofitting a booster and am rethinking my strategy. I love the 13 inch original rims as I powder coated them with whitewalls but now want to put in a disc conversion kit. That puts me on track to upgrade to 14 or 15 inch rims so now I'm thinking to go full Monty and swap to a 302 cid and upgrade the whole car suspension, engine, drive train and rear end :))
It would be a fun project for me, my son and his wife. :) ok back to my specific reason. I'm now searching the Internet for what is the best combo. I found a site for the motor mount upgrade but thought I would start here with any suggestions and/or advice. My shop is well equipped to handle this project and I'm an old gear head from the 60s except for welding lol.
I will start searching the forum but thought i should introduce myself first thanks
Ponyshopguy

popscomet

Re: Hello from the Pony Shop

Post by popscomet »

WELCOME,glad to have ya................good luck on your comet..........pop
pop/glenda

Jims65cyclone

Post by Jims65cyclone »

Welcome aboard!
Jim

poboyjo65

Post by poboyjo65 »