Overheating Help I think?

The Era of The Square Body Racing Comets
64Hula

Overheating Help I think?

Post by 64Hula »

Hey all, SO I have had my new to me 1964 Caliente Convertible for about a week, rebuilt 289 with a mild cam and less than 2200 miles on it, rebuild C4 with less than 400 miles on it, bought it and drove it home on a cool night on the freeway for over 40 minutes and no issues. Then my next drive it was 85 out and drove it about 15 minutes, parked it for about 10 then went to start it and when went to go into reverse it would bog down and die. Got going and it was ok and about 20 minutes later the transmission started to shift from 2-3 harder than normal, nothing crazy but could keel it. Got home went to back into the garage and it bogged and dies 3 times. Parked it and then notice coolant from the overflow tube on the ground. I bit later checked the radiator and the coolant level was up to the top.

OK, I am new to the older era cars, I replace the thermostat and drove it today and it did the bogging again.

My gauge cluster temp gauge doesn't work so that isn't helping either, but that is getting fixed ASAP.

Please help and or ideas? New Radiator? Since the transmission has cooler lines to the Rad was thinking that may the issue????

Thanks
Scott

Groover

Re: Overheating Help I think?

Post by Groover »

I'm not an expert, but nothing in that description makes me think radiator?

Does it die while in gear/in motion, or just die while idling?

My first guess is carburetor (boiling the fuel, vacuum leak that presents once warmed up, etc.)

In any event, a good investment would be one of those infrared temp sensors. You can get one at Lowes or Home Depot for about $30.
https://www.lowes.com/pd/General-Tools- ... er/3136869

That way you can see if anything is too hot. Your temp guage once working will only tell you about the coolant, but nothing about the trans.
1964 Comet Caliente Convertible
30,000 miles on our rebuild