New Guy in Dallas, TX

Let everyone know a little about yourself
cullen7897

New Guy in Dallas, TX

Post by cullen7897 »

Hello All,

I just purchased a 1964 Comet Caliente that needs, well.. pretty much everything. I am new to not only Comets, but the Ford family of cars in general. Until this purchase I was strictly classic Pontiac, but I got bored with it and tired of paying the Pontiac tax on the extremely limited selection of aftermarket parts.

So, after selling my last car (1963 Pontiac Tempest,) I started the hunt for a Comet. Found one a couple of weeks ago, got it into my small two-car garage and now the real fun begins.

My plans for the car are to build a mild (semi-budget friendly) road race car that sees some street time. My first area of business is the suspension system. OpenTracker seems to be the perfect match for what I am looking to do and the price is much more reasonable than some of the more extreme suspension upgrades.
If anyone has any suggestions, I am more than happy to listen!

-Cullen

lavron
Site Admin

Re: New Guy in Dallas, TX

Post by lavron »

Welcome Cullen, sounds like you have some plans and when you can post some pictures for us to see.

You can find a lot of information on suspensions on the forum the first thing to consider is converting it to '65 steering component, most of the stuff is Mustang interchange except the center link and you have to have a Comet/Falcon part for that but is available. Most likely you will want to do the "Shelby" drop on the upper control arm for better handling.

I did a Mustang2 front on mine but that may be further than you want to take it and it also is not necessarily better than the stock steering but it is a major modification.

You will find many many Mustang parts interchange which is a bonus because there is a large aftermarket for those parts.