Autolite 4100 manual choke kit

289 - 351 cid Small Block Performance
Post Reply
jtgb428
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 3:35 pm
Location: fort plain,ny
Contact:

Autolite 4100 manual choke kit

Post by jtgb428 »

Hey guys, quite a few years ago there was a manual choke kit on ebay for the autolite 4100, you had to do this and that and modify this and modify that on the carburetor.....this setup from what I understand was basically junk...is there finally a manual hand choke setup you can bolt on and go with no hitches..I have a 4100 I would like to run on my 289 and would really like the manual hand choke setup..didn't the 271 hipos have this setup..I'm currently running a edelbrock 500 cfm 4bbl and it works real good but when I had the 4100 on my 289 there was no comparison the 289 really sang...I just had the 4100 rebuilt and want to run a manual hand choke..thanks, Jim jtgb428..

Joe Travers
Posts: 556
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2020 5:23 pm
Location: Louisiana

Re: Autolite 4100 manual choke kit

Post by Joe Travers »

Some HiPo 289s had automatic chokes. Are you running exhaust manifolds to provide heat tube to the choke?
If so, I would leave it and adjust it properly.........or tune the Edelbrock properly.
No reason the Edelbrock couldn't sing as well or better.

JT
Image

1963 Custom Hardtop

jtgb428
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 3:35 pm
Location: fort plain,ny
Contact:

Re: Autolite 4100 manual choke kit

Post by jtgb428 »

I have headers..don't know if it's just me but the 289 seemed to run stronger with the 4100..it came off of a big block with the 1.12 ventures and was calibrated to run on the 289..really would like the hand choke...thanks, Jim...

User avatar
poboyjo65
Posts: 5999
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:40 pm
Location: Camden, Tenn.

Re: Autolite 4100 manual choke kit

Post by poboyjo65 »

Why not do an electric choke ? the one I'm using on my 4100 works good.
Image
Johno
215-60-15 on 7x15's .... 29-15-15 on 10x15's

jtgb428
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 3:35 pm
Location: fort plain,ny
Contact:

Re: Autolite 4100 manual choke kit

Post by jtgb428 »

Jim here, how do you like the electric choke? Have you had any issues with it? Seems easy enough to install...I'm not much of a mechanic but I think I can install your setup no problem... I looked it up and am pretty impressed... Thanks, Jim...

comethead
Posts: 5253
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2003 6:44 pm
Location: Palmdale, CA

Re: Autolite 4100 manual choke kit

Post by comethead »

I have a manual choke on my 4100. I bought the kit off eBay. It screws onto the holes where the auto choke mounts like the original.
You have to change the choke plate link for it to work. I found a choke plate shaft with the right link for $7 instead of staking the one from the kit.
Also you have to plug the auto choke vacuum hole. I used epoxy.
Once adjusted correctly it’s worry free.

Joe
1965 Caliente HT- 289/4 speed
1964 Falcon HT- track car- 302/4 speed
Image

Post Reply