1965 Comet Project

The Era of The Square Body Racing Comets
2gr8kids

1965 Comet Project

Post by 2gr8kids »

Here is my project... A little unconventional hot rodding a 4 door, but I love it and I don't care if others are not fond of it.

I've had the car for about 6 or 7 years. I live in Michigan and went to Arizona to pick it up. I flew down on a Fiday before a Memorial day weekend and took a test drive then proceeded to drive back without much more than a quick inspection. Fortunately, I made with only some minor overheating issues.

I didn't do much to it initially except for some minor repairs and swap the 3 speed manual out for a T5 I found on Craigslist.

In the last year I've made some siginficant progress on the suspension. One major goal was that I wanted it to handle decent.

A little over 2 years ago I was fortunate enough to land a job at Detroit Speed in Mooresville, North Carolina. I was an engineer there and used my car as the basis for the kits. I'm no longer there but will always have have fond memories of that job and the team I worked with. I've since relocated back to Michigan to spoil some grandkids!

So the suspension in the car is full Detroit Speed. This car handles excellent. It made the curvy roads in North Carolina so much fun!

The rear end is a Ford 9". The rear end housing is from Detoit Speed. The differential was built by GearFX in Mooresville, NC. It is a Strange case, Eaton Tru-trac diff with 3.55 gears.

The brakes are Baer 13" front and 12" rear. I have their master cylinder but have not installed it yet. It currently has a dual reservoir manual master.

Engine is what came with the car. It is a 289 and needs to be refreshed or updated.

Front tires are 245/17 the rear are 275/17. I needed to run at least 17" wheels to clear the Bear brakes but didn't want to go any larger than needed. I'm not fond of the thin rubber band tires on old cars.

Steering column is from Ididit and the steering wheel is Scott Drake.

Future plans...